Friday, November 5, 2010

The Main Difference

Last night, I was at a little get together with some married friends. Two of us had kids. Two of us did not. We were all sitting around chatting and it fell into the "Oh, is Junior sleeping through the night now?" "Well, little JoJo is a good eater, but a terrible sleeper." At which point, us two non-moms chimed in with "Well, little Fido is really a troublemaker."

I was thinking about how terrible it is to compare someone's children to your pets... and I had a revelation in the main difference between pets and kids.

Sure, Fluffy probably won't cry all night, and Fluffy won't grow up and start to hate you, and Fluffy doesn't need a college fund... but when it comes right down to it: We want our pets to be stupid, but we want our kids to be smart.

I feel like this explains a lot. Feel free to subscribe to this blog for other such brilliant words of wisdom! :p

No comments:

Post a Comment